The Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

About us

Since 1805

Biography Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

The Luzerner Sinfonieorchester is the resident orchestra at the prestigious KKL Luzern. As Switzerland’s oldest symphony orchestra, it has achieved international standing and is considered one of the leading Swiss orchestras.

Strongly anchored in Lucerne, a city with a worldwide reputation for music, the orchestra runs a number of concert series and initiated the annual piano festival “Le piano symphonique” in 2022. It also acts as the opera orchestra of the Lucerne Theatre. Michael Sanderling has held the post of Chief Conductor of the orchestra since the 2021/22 season.

Renowned chief conductors including James Gaffigan (2010 – 2021) and Jonathan Nott (1997 – 2002) have shaped the ensemble over the last two decades. Big names such as Constantinos Carydis, Thomas Dausgaard, Charles Dutoit, Marek Janowski, Juanjo Mena, Andris Nelsons and John Storgårds are regular guest conductors of the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester. Many artists of international repute enjoy a close association with the orchestra including Martha Argerich, Joshua Bell, Rudolf Buchbinder, Gautier and Renaud Capuçon, Julia Fischer, Vilde Frang, Gil Shaham, Vadim Gluzman, Hélène Grimaud, Steven Isserlis, Sol Gabetta, Truls Mørk, Daniil Trifonov and Krystian Zimerman.

The Luzerner Sinfonieorchester was founded in 1805/06, at the same time as Beethoven was writing his Violin Concerto, his Fourth Symphony and his Fourth Piano Concerto. With its 200-year history, the orchestra successfully combines tradition and innovation. It actively promotes new music through the commissioning of works from composers including Sofia Gubaidulina, Dieter Ammann, Rodion Shchedrin, Thomas Adès and Wolfgang Rihm. The Rising Stars series, lunchtime concerts and the Arthur Waser Prize signal the orchestra’s commitment to fostering young talent. It runs its own orchestra academy and a comprehensive outreach programme, for which it was awarded the “Junge Ohren” prize in 2018.

In 2021 the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester was able to move into its new home on the Südpol campus. The Orchestra House provides the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester with a state of the art, full-scale rehearsal venue. Besides rehearsals – some of which are open to the public – chamber music concerts and numerous music outreach events also take place at this location.

Guest performances in around 30 countries on 4 continents and in 90 cities have taken the orchestra to the world’s best-known concert halls, such as Amsterdam Concertgebouw, the Philharmonie de Paris, London’s Barbican Hall, St. Petersburg Philharmonie, Salzburg Great Festival Hall, Vienna Musikverein, Moscow’s Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, Seoul Arts Center and Suntory Hall in Tokyo. The Luzerner Sinfonieorchester was the first Swiss orchestra to perform at the Ravinia Festival in Chicago, the Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence and the  Bologna Festival. Regular tours to Asia include destinations such as Japan, China, Korea, India and Singapore. Further engagements have taken the orchestra to Germany, Israel, Italy, Spain, Turkey, and also further afield to Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, and Uruguay. The 2022/23 season brings notable debuts for the orchestra, including the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

The international profile of the orchestra is reflected in its output of CDs and DVDs. The most recent releases are “Americans” on the French label Harmonia Mundi, and the much acclaimed recording of two violin concertos by Beethoven and Schnittke for BIS Records. Sony Classical has released albums including “Rachmaninoff in Lucerne” and Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. Further recordings with works by Saint-Saëns and Dutilleux (German Record Critics’ Award), Dvořák‘s Sixth Symphony (Top Music Recording 2014, New York Times) and Wolfgang Rihm’s symphony “Nähe Fern” have received awards from Harmonia Mundi. A DVD was released by Accentus Music with Martha Argerich and works by Shchedrin, Dvořák and Shostakovich.

In 2021 the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester sealed a long term partnership with Warner Classics.

The international promotion of the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester receives its principal funding from the Michael and Emmy Lou Pieper Trust.

  • Sound

    Orchestra

    Outstanding musicians from all over the world have a common goal: first-class performance in a first-class orchestra. Get to know the musicians of the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra.

    The Luzerner Sinfonieorchester
  • History

    The Luzerner Sinfonieorchester was founded when Ludwig van Beethoven completed his 4th symphony…

    Our History
  • Backstage

    Organisation

    Behind the scenes: Association and Office of the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra.

    Show more
  • Well connected

    Partner

    Together with strong partners for the cultural life of Lucerne as a city of music. Locally rooted – internationally connected.

    Show more
  • Interaction of many

    Play a part

    Would you like to get involved with the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester? We look forward to hearing from you.

    Show more

Our principal conductor Michael Sanderling at the KKL Luzern

Probensaal des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters

The large hall in the Orchesterhaus at the Südpol

The orchestra on concert day at the KKL Luzern

Das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Über uns

Seit 1805

Biografie Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester ist das Residenzorchester im renommierten KKL Luzern. Als ältestes Sinfonieorchester der Schweiz hat es internationale Anerkennung erlangt und wird als eines der führenden Schweizer Sinfonieorchester wahrgenommen.

Stark verankert in der weltweit bekannten Musikstadt Luzern, bietet es mehrere eigene Konzertzyklen an und organisiert seit 2022 das jährliche Klavierfestival «Le piano symphonique». Im Luzerner Theater wirkt es zudem als Opernorchester. Chefdirigent des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters seit der Saison 2021/22 ist Michael Sanderling.

Namhafte Chefdirigenten wie James Gaffigan (2010 – 2021) und Jonathan Nott (1997 – 2002) prägten den Klangkörper in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten. Persönlichkeiten wie Constantinos Carydis, Thomas Dausgaard, Charles Dutoit, Marek Janowski, Juanjo Mena, Andris Nelsons oder John Storgårds gastieren regelmässig beim Luzerner Sinfonieorchester. Weltweit renommierte Künstler wie Martha Argerich, Joshua Bell, Rudolf Buchbinder, Gautier und Renaud Capuçon, Julia Fischer, Vilde Frang, Gil Shaham, Vadim Gluzman, Hélène Grimaud, Steven Isserlis, Sol Gabetta, Truls Mørk, Daniil Trifonov und Krystian Zimerman stehen in enger Beziehung zur Institution.

Gegründet wurde das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester in der Saison 1805/06, in der Entstehungszeit von Beethovens Violinkonzert sowie dessen vierter Sinfonie und viertem Klavierkonzert. Mit seiner über 200-jährigen Geschichte vereint das Orchester erfolgreich Tradition und Innovation. Das zeitgenössische Musikschaffen fördert es durch Kompositionsaufträge, unter anderem an William Kentridge, Sofia Gubaidulina, Dieter Ammann, Rodion Shchedrin, Thomas Adès und Wolfgang Rihm. Mit Konzertformaten wie Rising Stars, Lunchkonzerten oder der Vergabe des Arthur Waser Preises setzt sich das Orchester für die Förderung von jungen Talenten ein. Es unterhält eine eigene Orchesterakademie sowie ein umfassendes Musikvermittlungsprogramm, für das es 2018 mit dem «Junge Ohren Preis» ausgezeichnet wurde.

2021 durfte das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester seine neue musikalische Heimstätte im Kampus Südpol beziehen. Mit dem Orchesterhaus verfügt das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester nun über einen fachgerechten Raum für sinfonisch besetzte Proben. Neben den – zum Teil öffentlichen – Proben finden hier auch Kammermusikkonzerte sowie zahlreiche Veranstaltungen der Musikvermittlung statt.

Gastspiele in rund 30 Ländern auf 4 Kontinenten und in 90 Städten führten das Orchester in die renommierten Konzertsäle der Welt: so etwa in das Concertgebouw Amsterdam, in die Philharmonie de Paris, in die Londoner Barbican Hall, in die St. Petersburger Philharmonie, ins Grosse Festspielhaus Salzburg, in den Musikverein Wien, in die Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moskau, in das Seoul Arts Center und in die Suntory Hall Tokyo. Als erstes Schweizer Orchester spielte das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester beim Ravinia Festival in Chicago, beim Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence und beim Bologna Festival. Regelmässig unternimmt das Orchester Tourneen nach Asien – zum Beispiel nach Japan, China, Korea, Indien und Singapur. Weitere Tourneen und Engagements führten es nach Deutschland, Israel, Italien, Spanien und in die Türkei sowie nach Argentinien, Brasilien, Kolumbien und Uruguay. In der Saison 2022/23 stehen beim Orchester namhafte Debüts an u.a. in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Das internationale Profil des Orchesters spiegelt sich auch in seinen CD- und DVD Aufnahmen wider. Zuletzt erschienen beim französischen Label harmonia mundi das Album «Amercians» und beim Label BIS Records eine vielbeachtete Aufnahme mit zwei Violinkonzerten von Beethoven und Schnittke. Sony Classical veröffentlichte u.a. die Alben «Rachmaninoff in Lucerne» sowie Beethovens Neunte. Weitere Einspielungen mit Werken von Saint-Saëns und Dutilleux (Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik), die 6. Sinfonie von Dvořák (Top Music Recording 2014 New York Times) sowie Wolfgang Rihms Sinfonie «Nähe fern» wurden durch harmonia mundi herausgebracht. Bei Accentus Music erschien eine DVD mit Martha Argerich und mit Werken von Shchedrin, Dvořák und Schostakowitsch. In den nächsten Jahren wird es eine Gesamteinspielung der Brahmssinfonien geben.
Mit Warner Classics hat das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester 2021 eine langjährige Partnerschaft vereinbart.

Die internationale Entwicklung des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters wird wesentlich durch den Michael und Emmy Lou Pieper Fonds gefördert.

  • Klangkörper

    Orchester

    Hervorragende Musikerinnen und Musiker aus aller Welt haben ein gemeinsames Ziel: Erstklassiges Spiel in einem erstklassigen Orchester. Lernen Sie die Musikerinnen und Musiker des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters kennen.

    Das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester
  • Hinter der Bühne

    Organisation

    Hinter den Kulissen: Verein und Team Geschäftsstelle des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters.

    Mehr anzeigen
  • Gut vernetzt

    Partner

    Mit starken Partnern unterwegs für das Kulturleben der Musikstadt Luzern. Lokal verankert – international vernetzt.

    Mehr anzeigen
  • Zusammenspiel von vielen

    Teil werden

    Sie möchten sich für das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester engagieren? Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

    Mehr anzeigen

Unser Chefdirigent Michael Sanderling im KKL Luzern

Probensaal des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters

Der grosse Saal im Orchesterhaus am Südpol

Das Orchester am Konzerttag im KKL Luzern

  • Principal Sponsor
  • Residenzsponsoren
  • Hauptsponsoren