Numa Bischof Ullmann

Intendant

Numa Bischof Ullmann

Since 2004 with the Orchestra

Numa Bischof Ullmann

Beyond the orchestra’s regional roots, its international positioning has been developed under Numa Bischof Ullmann’s guidance and is being greatly expanded to this day.

Basel-born Numa Bischof Ullmann has been artistic director of the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra since 2004. Under his leadership, the orchestra has become one of the foremost Swiss orchestras. His achievements include the enlargement of the orchestra, the appointment of former principal conductor James Gaffigan, and the international positioning of the ensemble. He has also been responsible for establishing partnerships with CD labels and an increase in the number of appearances. Since 2004 the orchestra’s budget has nearly doubled. Today, the orchestra performs in the world’s major cultural hubs and makes recordings for first-class labels such as harmonia mundi, Sony BMG and Warner Classics.

Beyond the orchestra’s regional roots, its international positioning has been developed under Numa Bischof Ullmann’s guidance and is being greatly expanded to this day. The orchestra has toured and given guest performances in numerous European capitals, South America and on several occasions in Asia.

Bishop Ullmann took a fresh approach to the financing and organisation of this cultural institution by establishing the private “Lucerne Symphony Orchestra Trust” in 2008, which is financed by leading Swiss entrepreneurs. This approach made possible the expansion of the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra by 20 musicians and ensures the preservation of the institution for future generations.

Under his aegis, a full-time position for the music outreach programme was established in 2006, a novelty among Swiss symphony orchestras at that time. In 2014, the Music Truck emerged as a successful product of this programme.

Bishop Ullmann attaches particular importance to the promotion of new music. In keeping with this, several new compositions have been commissioned under his direction, such as the Nähe Fern cycle by Wolfgang Rihm and works by Sofia Gubaidulina and Thomas Adès. The world premiere of Rodion Shchedrin’s new concerto for piano, cello and orchestra in 2011, dedicated to Martha Argerich, is one of the milestones of his artistic success. He is also keen to promote young talent and has institutionalised his commitment through the Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne Award for Young Composers in collaboration with the Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne in 2010, the Arthur Waser Prize in collaboration with the Arthur Waser Foundation in 2013 and the Rising Stars concert series in collaboration with the Strebi Foundation in 2016.

In addition to his work with the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, Numa Bischof Ullmann is the founder and artistic director of the Festival Zaubersee – Tage Russischer Musik in Lucerne, and was vice-president of the umbrella association of Swiss professional orchestras from 2010 to 2015. In this capacity, he initiated the Œuvres Suisse project in collaboration with Pro Helvetia, which promotes a new repertoire of contemporary Swiss orchestral works.

He is also a member of the board of trustees of an international foundation, serves on the advisory board of both Zurich Minds and another cultural foundation, and has served on the juries of various competitions, such as the International Busoni Piano Competition 2011 and the International Gilmore Award, USA (2011-2015).

  • Principal Sponsor
  • Resident Sponsors
  • Main sponsors

Numa Bischof Ullmann

Intendant

Numa Bischof Ullmann

Seit 2004 beim Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Numa Bischof Ullmann

Neben der regionalen Verankerung des Orchesters wurde unter Numa Bischof Ullmanns Leitung die internationale Positionierung des Orchesters entwickelt und bis heute stark ausgebaut.

Der gebürtige Basler Numa Bischof Ullmann ist seit 2004 Intendant des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters. Unter seiner Leitung wurde das Orchester zu einem der führenden Schweizer Orchester. Zu seinen Errungenschaften gehören die sukzessive Vergrößerung des Orchesters, die Gründung der Stiftung für das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, der Bau und die Finanzierung des Orchesterhauses sowie das Engagement von Michael Sanderling und des ehemaligen Chefdirigenten James Gaffigan, ebenso sowie die internationale Positionierung des Klangkörpers und die Partnerschaft mit Warner Classics. Das Budget des Orchesters hat sich seit 2004 nahezu verdoppelt. Heute tritt das Orchester in den bedeutenden Kulturmetropolen weltweit auf und produziert Aufnahmen für erstklassige Labels.

Neben der regionalen Verankerung des Orchesters wurde unter Numa Bischof Ullmanns Leitung die internationale Positionierung des Orchesters entwickelt und bis heute stark ausgebaut. So führte das Orchester Tourneen und Gastspiele in die wichtigen Hauptstädte Europas, nach Südamerika sowie wiederholt nach Asien durch.

Bischof Ullmann verfolgt einen neuen Ansatz in der Finanzierung und Organisation der Kulturinstitution, indem er 2008 die private «Stiftung für das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester» gründete, die mittels führender Schweizer Unternehmer finanziert wird. Dieser Ansatz ermöglichte die Erweiterung des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters um über 20 Musikerinnen und Musiker und sichert den Erhalt der Institution für weitere Generationen.

Unter seiner Ägide wurde 2006 die Vollzeitstelle für das Programm Musikvermittlung eingerichtet, damals ein Novum unter den Schweizer Sinfonieorchestern. 2014 ging aus diesem Programm der Musikwagen erfolgreich hervor.

Bischof Ullmann legt besonderen Wert auf die Förderung der Neuen Musik. Entsprechend wurden unter seiner Leitung etliche neue Kompositionen in Auftrag gegeben z.B. der Zyklus «Nähe Fern» von Wolfgang Rihm und Werke von Sofia Gubaidulina oder Thomas Adès. Die Uraufführung von Rodion Shchedrins neuem Konzert für Klavier, Cello und Orchester 2011, das Martha Argerich gewidmet ist, gehört zu den Meilensteinen seiner künstlerischen Erfolge. Als zweitem Schwerpunkt widmet er sich der Förderung junger Talente, institutionalisiert durch den Arthur Waser Preis in Zusammenarbeit mit der Arthur Waser Stiftung und der Konzertreihe Lunchkonzerte und Rising Star Konzert.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit beim Luzerner Sinfonieorchester ist Numa Bischof Ullmann Gründer und Künstlerischer Leiter des Klavierfestivals «Le piano symphonique» und war von 2010 bis 2015 Vizepräsident des Dachverbandes der Schweizerischen Berufsorchester. In dieser Funktion hat er das Projekt Œuvres Suisse in Zusammenarbeit mit Pro Helvetia angeregt, das ein neues Repertoire an zeitgenössischen Schweizer Orchesterwerken fördert. Darüber hinaus ist er im Stiftungsrat einer internationalen Förderstiftung, wirkt im Advisory Board von World Minds sowie einer weiteren Kulturstiftung mit und engagierte sich in Jurys bei diversen Wettbewerben, z.B. beim Internationalen Busoni Klavier Wettbewerb 2011 oder dem International Gilmore Award, USA (2011–2015).

  • Principal Sponsor
  • Residenzsponsoren
  • Hauptsponsoren