Loading Events

Maria João Pires plays Beethoven

Wed, 27. November 2024 | 19:30 UhrKKL Luzern, Konzertsaal


  • Unsuk Chin (* 1961)

    • «subito con forza»

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 ‒ 1827)

    • Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G major, Op. 58

  • Piotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski (1840 ‒ 1893)

    • ‘Manfred’ Symphony, Op. 58, after Byron’s dramatic poem

The ‘Manfred’ Symphony still takes a back seat to Tchaikovsky’s six ‘real’ symphonies on the concert platform. The ‘Manfred’ programme was actually intended for Berlioz, but he declined to set it to music. Tchaikovsky therefore took over, and the result is an incredibly richly-orchestrated four-movement orchestral epic. Lord Byron, an English Romantic writer whom Tchaikovsky held in high regard, provided the material for the work, which ultimately offers a very personal, even perhaps intimate, insight into Tchaikovsky’s sensitive soul. Surely the ‘Manfred’ Symphony can therefore be seen as a musical confession. The work remained particularly close to him throughout his life: “Even if ‘Manfred’ were the work of the greatest genius, it would still be a symphony that would be played only once every ten years, due to its extraordinary complexity and difficulty. On the other hand, I rate it very highly.” Well, those ten years have passed once again – thanks to the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester and their chief conductor, Michael Sanderling.

The fact that there is another Tchaikovsky symphony in addition to the six, the great ‘Manfred’ Symphony, still isn’t widely known.

  • Principal Sponsor
  • Resident Sponsors
  • Main sponsors
  • Co-sponsors
  • Partner