Mikhail Pletnev

Lucerne Symphony Orchestra debut: 7th September 2022

Mikhail Pletnev is an outstanding artist whose brilliant versatility as a pianist, conductor and composer dazzles audiences worldwide. His musicality is demonstrated in an exceptional technique, a profound emotional range, and interpretations that combine instinct and intellect.

Pletnev achieved worldwide recognition at the age of 21 by winning the gold medal at the 1978 International Tchaikovsky Piano Competition. As a distinguished soloist and celebrated guest conductor, he regularly collaborates with renowned orchestras such as the London Philharmonia Orchestra, the Concertgebouw Orchestra and the Los Angeles Philharmonic.

His performances in the world’s most important cultural cities highlight his formidable versatility. Critics praise his playing as refreshing and radiating vitality. Pletnev’s recordings, including Prokofiev’s Cinderella for two pianos with Martha Argerich and Rachmaninov’s piano concertos, have been honoured with prestigious prizes including a Grammy Award in 2005.

As a composer, Pletnev has created a multifaceted oeuvre to date, including the Classical Symphony and various piano transcriptions, which can be found in renowned collections such as “Great Pianists of the 20th Century” (Philips Classics, 1998). His work is praised for its beauty and originality in equal measure and contributes to the diversity and depth of the contemporary musical landscape. The Times writes of his playing: “Born of a tremendous virtuosity of imagination, unrivalled in its beauty”.


Mikhail Pletnev plays Moszkowski - Etude op. 72 No. 11 (Beijing, 2018)

  • Principal Sponsor
  • Resident Sponsors
  • Main sponsors
  • Co-sponsors
  • Partner